CASS self-declaration scheme

The Self-declaration scheme includes the ability at modest cost to lodge a self-declaration with a ‘CASS appointed body’ so that an end-user knows it is lodged even if the supplier changes ownership or status in the future.

It follows a similar approach to that used for some ATEX declarations so that safety authorities like the HSE can discuss with end-users how they established the FSM of suppliers and can access the declaration if appropriate.

Functional Safety Management (FSM) is applicable to all organisations involved in safety-related systems and is a mandatory part of IEC 61508.

Currently, the CASS methodology covers the FSM requirements of IEC 61508 and the HSE guidance ‘Managing Competence for Safety-Related Systems’, all in a single document. Furthermore, it can be shown that the FSM requirements from IEC 61511 (process industry) and IEC 62061 (machinery industry) can be matched to those in IEC 61508 (the master standard).

The 2nd edition of IEC 61511 requires that all suppliers for a system designed and built to IEC 61511 must comply with the FSM requirements of IEC 61508. Therefore there is considerable value in using an FSM declaration that complies with both IEC 61508 and IEC 61511 in a single document. Also, in requiring suppliers to show FSM demonstrates the buyer’s FSM responsibility.

The forms and guidance for completing a Self-declaration which include instructions for ‘CASS appointed bodies’ can be downloaded here:


The 61508 Association
15 Hillside Road
Cheshire UK



Site © Copyright The 61508 Association 2017.
Site by The Website Business